/2010 Dakar Rally: VW wins for the second time in row

2010 Dakar Rally: VW wins for the second time in row

vw dakar win at 2010 Dakar Rally: VW wins for the second time in row

Just like the previous year, nothing could stop those mighty TDI VW Tourages as they owned the podium with a a one-two-three finish: Sainz / Cruz in first place, Al-Attiyah / Gottschalk second and Miller / Pitchford third. These diesel-powered Touaregs might only have 300hp but the way they’re engineered to tackle the hellishly hard stages of Dakar rally is just so good and flawless that like the 2009 event, they left the competition in dust! Kudos to VW.

vw dakar touareg at 2010 Dakar Rally: VW wins for the second time in row

‘I’m incredibly proud of our team.  It’s stunning what the drivers, co-drivers and the entire team have achieved on every single day of the Dakar Rally.  With this one-two-three triumph Volkswagen Motorsport even surpassed its own lofty goals,’ says Dr. rer. pol. h. c. Francisco Javier Garcia Sanz, Member of the Board of Management at Volkswagen AG for procurement, at the finish of the final stage.

Volkswagen Motorsport Director Kris Nissen explains: ‘Three weeks ago a highly motivated Volkswagen team came with the goal of successfully defending the Dakar title won last year.  Volkswagen has achieved something historical with this one-two-three.  We are not only unbeaten in South America, we are also the only manufacturer to have won the world’s hardest rally up to now with diesel technology.  The Volkswagen drivers fought amongst themselves for victory all the way to the chequered flag – sometimes by hard but fair means.  This is exactly how we imagine motorsport to be.  My congratulations therefore go to every Volkswagen duo who would all have been worthy winners.’

2010 Dakar Rally Results: Final standings after stage 14, Santa Rosa (RA)–Buenos Aires (RA);  202/707 km SS/total

1     Sainz / Cruz (E / E) Volkswagen Race Touareg 2   1h 20m 18s (2)   47h 10m 00s

2    Al-Attiyah / Gottschalk (Q / D)   Volkswagen Race Touareg 2   1h 19m 42s (1)   + 2m 12s

3    Miller / Pitchford (USA / ZA)    Volkswagen Race Touareg 2   1h 21m 21s (5)   + 32m 51s

4    Peterhansel / Cottret (F / F)   BMW X3 CC   1h 20m 50s (4)   + 2h 17m 21s

5    Chicherit / Thörner (F / S)    BMW X3 CC    1h 20m 25s (3)    + 4h 02m 49s

6    Sousa / Baumel (P / F)    Mitsubishi Racing Lancer    1h 25m 31s (15)    + 4h 31m 45s

7    de Villiers / von Zitzewitz (ZA / D)    Volkswagen Race Touareg 2    1h 21m 23s (6)    + 5h 10m 19s

8    Gordon / Grider (USA / USA)    Hummer    1h 21m 40s (7)    + 6h 02m 24s

9    Terranova / Maimon (RA / F)    Mitsubishi Racing Lancer    1h 22m 10s (8)    + 6h 04m 47s

10  Spinelli / Palmeiro (BR / P)    Mitsubishi Racing Lancer   1h 24m 50s (13)    + 6h 13m 41s

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

(Founder / Chief Editor / Journalist) – Arman is the original founder of Motorward.com, which he kept until August 2009. Currently Arman is our chief editor and is held responsible for a large part of the news we publish.