/BMW Achieves First DTM Win In 20 Years

BMW Achieves First DTM Win In 20 Years

BMW DTM Win at BMW Achieves First DTM Win In 20 Years

BMW is enjoying an early success in DTM upon their return after a long absence, as BMW Bank driver Bruno Spengler won yesterday’s DTM race in Lausitzring. By winning the second race in its comeback season, BMW is showing a ton of promise for the rest of the year. This was their first win in 20 years – since Roberto Ravaglia’s at Hockenheim in 92. It must have felt really good.

This victory was not surprising though. The M3 BMW is fielding this year is such a damn good touring car, and they have a lineup of great drivers to use its potential. Speaking of the drivers, the Lausitz win was also special for Bruno Spengler, as it was his 10th DTM victory milestone.

As for other BMW M3 drivers, reigning DTM champion Martin Tomczyk (BMW M Performance Parts M3 DTM) finished seventh to score six points for BMW Team RMG. His team-mate Joey Hand crossed the line 14th in his SAMSUNG BMW M3 DTM. Andy Priaulx (Crowne Plaza Hotels BMW M3 DTM) and Dirk Werner (E-POSTBRIEF BMW M3 DTM) came home 17th and 19th respectively.

Race Rsults
Pos. Driver Car Time
1. Bruno Spengler BMW Bank M3 DTM 1:09:45.795
2. Gary Paffett Thomas Sabo Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 1:09:46.814
3. Augusto Farfus Castrol EDGE BMW M3 DTM 1:09:52.864
4. Jamie Green Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 1:09:53.471
5. Mattias Ekström Red Bull Audi A5 DTM 1:10:07.157
6. Timo Scheider AUTO TEST Audi A5 DTM 1:10:08.402
7. Martin Tomczyk BMW M Performance Zubehör M3 DTM 1:10:11.241
8. Edoardo Mortara Playboy Audi A5 DTM 1:10:17.997
9. Filipe Albuquerque TV Movie Audi A5 DTM 1:10:18.453
10. Ralf Schumacher Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 1:10:21.308
11. Christian Vietoris Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG C-Coupé 1:10:31.494
12. David Coulthard DHL Paket Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 1:10:32.150
13. Mike Rockenfeller Schaeffler Audi A5 DTM 1:10:33.462
14. Joey Hand SAMSUNG BMW M3 DTM 1:10:33.829
15. Miguel Molina Red Bull Audi A5 DTM 1:10:34.631
16. Roberto Merhi Junge Sterne Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 1:10:42.249
17. Andy Priaulx Crowne Plaza Hotels BMW M3 DTM 1:10:44.779
18. Adrien Tambay Audi ultra A5 DTM 1:10:50.441
19. Dirk Werner E-POSTBRIEF BMW M3 DTM 1:10:50.996
20. Rahel Frey E-POSTBRIEF Audi A5 DTM 1:10:54.365
21. Susie Wolff TV Spielfilm Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 1:10:04.612
DNF Robert Wickens stern Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 1:03:43.636


(Founder / Chief Editor / Journalist) – Arman is the original founder of Motorward.com, which he kept until August 2009. Currently Arman is our chief editor and is held responsible for a large part of the news we publish.