/Mercedes SLS Returns As 2012 Official F1 Safety Car

Mercedes SLS Returns As 2012 Official F1 Safety Car

Official F1 Safety Car 2012 1 at Mercedes SLS Returns As 2012 Official F1 Safety Car

Even though the new Mercedes SL63 AMG is ready for duty, the company decided to keep the SLS in business and officially introduced it as the Formula 1 Safety Car for 2012 season. The SLS Gullwing is assisted by a new Mercedes C63 AMG Estate which will be at the disposal of quick response medical personnel.

This season marks the twelfth year of F1 service for the 40 year-old racer Bernd Mayländer, who’s been driving different Mercedes safety cars since 2000. Bernd also works as an instructor for the AMG Driving Academy and attends selected events as a Mercedes-Benz brand ambassador.

The SLS safety car is based on the road-going version, with the same engine, power train, suspension and braking system. It is, however, fitted with even louder exhausts for an even more emotionally-charged sound experience, so you can hear it over the F1 engines even watching on TV.

Official F1 Safety Car 2012 2 at Mercedes SLS Returns As 2012 Official F1 Safety Car

Just like the SLS AMG, the C 63 AMG Estate is ideally equipped to provide outstanding driving dynamics. The AMG 6.3-litre V8 engine includes the AMG Performance package and produces 358 kW (487 hp). The power of the Official F1 Medical Car is transferred via the standard AMG SPEEDSHIFT MCT 7-speed sports transmission, with wet start-up clutch, four driving modes, a double-declutch and a RACE START function. It does zero to 100 km/h in 4.5 seconds.

AMG has provided the Safety Cars and Medical Cars for 16 years

AMG has extensive experience in the design, development and deployment of the Official F1™ Safety Car and Official F1™ Medical Car. The Affalterbach-based company has been active in the top echelons of international motorsport since 1996.

All AMG Safety Cars at a glance

1996: C 36 AMG (W 202)

from 1997: CLK 55 AMG (C 208)

2000: CL 55 AMG (C 215)

from 2001: SL 55 AMG (R 230)

2003: CLK 55 AMG (C 209)

from 2004: SLK 55 AMG (R 171)

from 2006: CLK 63 AMG (C 209)

from 2008: SL 63 AMG (R 230)

since 2010: SLS AMG (C 197)

All AMG Medical Cars at a glance

1996: C 36 AMG (W 202)

1997: C 36 AMG (W 202); E 60 AMG (W 210)

from 1998: C 55 AMG Estate (S 202)

from 2001: C 32 AMG Estate (S 203)

from 2004: C 55 AMG Estate (S 203)

since 2008: C 63 AMG Estate (S 204)

As early as 1984, an AMG E-Class Coupé with a V8 engine was occasionally used as the Medical Car. The activities of Mercedes-AMG are also evidence of Mercedes-Benz’s longstanding commitment to Formula 1.

(Founder / Chief Editor / Journalist) – Arman is the original founder of Motorward.com, which he kept until August 2009. Currently Arman is our chief editor and is held responsible for a large part of the news we publish.