/Corvette ZR1 To Pace 2012 Indianapolis 500

Corvette ZR1 To Pace 2012 Indianapolis 500

ZR1 Indy Pace Car 1 at Corvette ZR1 To Pace 2012 Indianapolis 500

Mercifully, Indy 500 organizers decided not to go with the ongoing trend of using hybrids and electric cars as pace cars for big motorsport events. Nope, for the 96th Indy 500 race on May 27 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway they’ve chosen a 2013 Corvette ZR1 to lead the field to the green flag. a proper, appropriate choice. 

This will also be a special occasion for Chevrolet and Corvette. The American sports car is celebrating its 60th anniversary this year. 2012 Indy 500 race will be the 11th time a Corvette is serving as the Pace Car, an the 23rd time a Chevrolet does that.

And boy is the ZR1 up to the job of pacing Indy monsters. Powered by a supercharged, 6.2-liter LS9 engine generating 638 horsepower and with a light weight of just 3,353 pounds thanks to the use of carbon fiber front fenders, hood, roof, front splitter, rocker panels and floor pans, this ‘Vette goes from 0 to 60 mph in 3.4 seconds, and capable of reaching a top speed of 205 mph.

The Pace car is a ZR1 fitted with the new 60th Anniversary Package, featuring an Arctic White exterior with a Blue Diamond leather-wrapped interior with suede accents. An optional graphics package adds full-length racing stripes in Pearl Silver Blue. Just about the only extra on it is a light bar.

ZR1 Indy Pace Car 2 at Corvette ZR1 To Pace 2012 Indianapolis 500

This is a truly momentous year for Chevrolet when it comes to performance, with our continued success on and off track, and especially with our return to the IndyCar Series, powering some of the fastest cars on the circuit,” said Jim Campbell, GM vice president of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports.  “I can’t think of a better way to mark the 60th Anniversary of Corvette than having it lead the starting field of the Indianapolis 500.

List of Chevy pace cars:

  • 1955 Bel Air
  • 1967 Camaro
  • 1969 Camaro
  • 1978 Corvette
  • 1982 Camaro
  • 1986 Corvette
  • 1990 Beretta
  • 1993 Camaro
  • 1995 Corvette
  • 1998 Corvette
  • 1999 Monte Carlo
  • 2002 Corvette
  • 2003 SSR
  • 2004 Corvette
  • 2005 Corvette
  • 2006 Corvette
  • 2007 Corvette
  • 2008 Corvette
  • 2009 Camaro
  • 2010 Camaro
  • 2011 Camaro
  • 2013 Corvette

(Founder / Chief Editor / Journalist) – Arman is the original founder of Motorward.com, which he kept until August 2009. Currently Arman is our chief editor and is held responsible for a large part of the news we publish.