/Porsche Puts an End to Audi’s Reign at Le Mans

Porsche Puts an End to Audi’s Reign at Le Mans

porsche le mans win 0 600x399 at Porsche Puts an End to Audi’s Reign at Le Mans

Finally, after over ten years of being the absolute king of the hill, Audi’s reign at Le Mans comes to an abrupt end. Turns out it takes a German to beat a German, as Audi were defeated by their sister company Porsche in their second year of returning to Le Mans after a long absence.

The amazing Porsche 919 Hybrid LMP1 racer proved itself more than a match for Audi’s mighty R18 e-tron, scoring a one-two finish – the 17th overall victory for Porsche. The first team to cross the finish the line having done the most laps was the white 919 drive by Hülkenberg/Bamber/Tandy who completed 395 laps in 24 hours. They were followed by the red 919 driven by Bernhard/Webber/Hartley which was only one lap behind. Audi secured the third and fourth place, followed by another Porsche 919 in the sixth.

Fritz Enzinger, Vice President LMP1: “It is an incredible achievement to win Le Mans in only our second attempt since Porsche’s return. I have to thank this brilliant team that has been growing together over the last three and a half years. The Porsche board backed us one hundred per cent from the word go. It will take a few days to realise what we have achieved. I know that a lot of people have virtually lived for this dream to come true and have pursued it with the greatest commitment.”

“I found it particularly impressive that Audi and Porsche with two completely different concepts of hybrid race cars were practically driving on the same level throughout the entire race,” said Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ulrich Hackenberg, Member of the Board of Management for Technical Development, who watched the race in the garage of Audi Sport Team Joest. “Both Group brands with their concepts were clearly faster than Toyota. And that’s exactly what we’d like to show in the WEC and at Le Mans.”

Le Mans 24 Hours 2015 results
1 Hülkenberg/Bamber/Tandy (Porsche) 395 laps
2 Bernhard/Webber/Hartley (Porsche) – 1 lap
3 Fässler/Lotterer/Tréluyer (Audi R18 e-tron quattro) – 2 laps
4 di Grassi/Duval/Jarvis (Audi R18 e-tron quattro) – 3 laps
5 Dumas/Jani/Lieb (Porsche) – 4 laps
6 Wurz/Sarrazin/Conway (Toyota) – 8 laps
7 Albuquerque/Bonanomi/Rast (Audi R18 e-tron quattro) – 8 laps
8 Davidson/Buemi/Nakajima (Toyota) – 9 laps
9 Howson/Bradley/Lapierre (ORECA-Nissan) – 37 laps
10 Dolan/Evans/Turvey (Gibson-Nissan) – 37 laps

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

(Founder / Chief Editor / Journalist) – Arman is the original founder of Motorward.com, which he kept until August 2009. Currently Arman is our chief editor and is held responsible for a large part of the news we publish.