/2013 F1 Safety Cars: Mercedes SLS GT and C63 AMG

2013 F1 Safety Cars: Mercedes SLS GT and C63 AMG

mercedes f1 safety 545x285 at 2013 F1 Safety Cars: Mercedes SLS GT and C63 AMG

Mercedes AMG may not be among the best Formula 1 teams when it comes to counting the number of wins and titles, but their role in Formula 1 is more important than everyone else’s because they are the official supplier of safety and medical cars for years. For the 2013 season, AMG provides the new SLS AMG GT safety car, and the C63 AMG Estate medical car.

The SLS AMG GT supercar is the perfect car for the job, what with its 435 kW (591 hp) of power and 1700kg curb weight, which let it accelerates from 0 to 100 km/h in 3.7 seconds, and reaches the 200 km/h mark after just 11.2 seconds.

The safety car is pretty much stock, apart from a new and aerodynamically optimized light bar located on the roof. The roof light bar also incorporates a TV camera, and a second camera located next to the rear number plate allows the driver and co-driver to keep an eye on the Formula 1 cars behind via a monitor in the cockpit.

The C63 AMG medical car, meanwhile, offers the perfect blend of speed and practicality. The 6.3-liter V8 engine of the C 63 AMG has the AMG Performance package and delivers an output of 358 kW (487 HP). High performance is also ensured by the variable coil-over suspension, the AMG high-performance braking system, AMG light-alloy wheels with tyre sizes 235/35 R 19 (front) and 255/30 R 19 (rear), the differential lock and 3-stage ESP. The Estate also boasts a 485-litre luggage area where all the medical equipment go.

All the Mercedes-AMG Safety Cars at a glance

1996:C 36 AMG (W 202)
from 1997:CLK 55 AMG (C 208)
2000:CL 55 AMG (C 215)
from 2001:SL 55 AMG (R 230)
2003:CLK 55 AMG (C 209)
from 2004:SLK 55 AMG (R 171)
from 2006:CLK 63 AMG (C 209)
from 2008:SL 63 AMG (R 230)
from 2010:SLS AMG (C 197)
since 2012 (Belgian GP):SLS AMG GT (C 197)

All the Mercedes-AMG Medical Cars at a glance

1996:C 36 AMG (W 202)
1997:C 36 AMG (W 202); E 60 AMG (W 210)
from 1998:C 55 AMG Estate (S 202)
from 2001:C 32 AMG Estate (S 203)
from 2004:C 55 AMG Estate (S 203)
since 2008:C 63 AMG Estate (S 204)

(Founder / Chief Editor / Journalist) – Arman is the original founder of Motorward.com, which he kept until August 2009. Currently Arman is our chief editor and is held responsible for a large part of the news we publish.